News Search

AETC announces 2011 Outstanding Airman of the Year winners

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Clinton Atkins
  • Air Education and Training Command Public Affairs
Air Education and Training Command announced the 2011 Outstanding Airman of the Year winners at an awards banquet here March 2. Nine Airmen were selected out of 25 nominees.

The nine Airmen will go on to compete in the Air Force wide competition.

The categories and winners are:

Military Training Instructor of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Brian T. Fisher, 322rd Training Squadron master military training instructor, Lackland Air Force Base, Texas.

Military Training Leader of the Year: Master Sgt. Alucia M. Davis, 37th Training Support Squadron flight chief, Lackland AFB

Recruiter of the Year: Tech Sgt. Leonor N. Roman, 341st Recruiting Squadron, Randolph AFB

Honor Guard Member of the Year: Senior Airman Charles B. Wilson, 42nd Contracting Squadron, Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.

Honor Guard Manager of the Year: Master Sgt. Danny J. Bradberry, 42nd Force Support Squadron superintendent, Maxwell AFB, Ala.

Airman of the Year: Staff Sgt. Angelo C. Banks, 81st Security Forces Squadron, Keesler AFB, Miss.

NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. David B. Siemiet, 98th Flying Training Squadron noncommissioned officer in charge of operations, U.S. Air Force Academy, Colo.

Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Michael D. Noel, Air University Public Affairs superintendent, Maxwell AFB

First Sergeant of the Year: Master Sgt. Rebecca M. Ewertz, 333rd Recruiting Squadron first sergeant, Patrick AFB, Fla.

The annual Outstanding Airman program recognizes Airmen and their accomplishments in their military career. The program's focus is on the Airman's superior performance and their positive contribution to the Air Force and community.

Each nominee is chosen by their command for leadership and job performance, significant self-improvement, and base or community involvement. The Airmen must also meet standard in dress and appearance, and a score of 75 or more on their physical fitness test.

"Each one of the nominees, not just the winners, exemplifies the best our Air Force has to offer," said AETC Command Chief Master Sgt. James Cody. "This week I had the pleasure of getting to know each of them and also learn from their successes.

"The OAY award program is all about recognizing our exceptional Airmen and rewarding them for all of their hard work," he said. These awards are just a small token of how much we appreciate their outstanding work ethics and excellent leadership."

Davis, who was named MTL of the Year, said she thanks her husband, Senior Master Sgt. Keith Davis, and her two sons for always keeping her grounded and understanding.

"I feel truly humbled and blessed that I am fortunate enough to experience this opportunity and I will cherish the memories. I will pay it forward," she said.

Fisher, who was named MTI of the Year, said there are three things Airmen must do to be successful: listen, be observant and stay motivated.

"Keep your ears open and you never know what advice will come your way," he said. "Watch others and how they perform to evaluate excellence. Motivation is contagious. Staying positive and motivated will only make your unit and yourself better."
Dress and Appearance
Awards and Decorations
Air Force Promotions
Fitness Program
AF Demographics