News Search

AETC announces top Airmen

  • Published
Air Education and Training Command has announced its top Airmen of 2007.

The winners were chosen from among 27 nominees identified by leadership at their home stations as the best professionals in their categories. 

"Being named one of the Outstanding Airmen of the Year is one of the biggest accomplishments one can get in his or her career," said Chief Master Sgt. Mark R. Luzader, AETC command chief master sergeant. "The competition is extremely fierce and each winner demonstrates the quality of individuals AETC has throughout and why we should be the command of choice."

After reviewing nomination packages and conducting a final selection board, AETC officials selected a winner in each of nine categories. The AETC Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2007 are: 

Senior Airman Shawn Ryan

Noncommissioned Officer:
Staff Sgt. James Weltin

Senior Noncommissioned Officer:
Master Sgt. Henry Hayes

First Sergeant:
Master Sgt. Michael Lantz

Honor Guard Program Manager:
Tech. Sgt. Ismael Paez

Honor Guard Member:
Senior Airman Ross Danaher

Military Training Instructor:
Master Sgt. John Melito

Military Training Leader:
Master Sgt. Jose Greene

Tech. Sgt. Johann Lynch

"We honor these remarkable Airmen as the best-of-the-best," said Gen. William R. Looney III, AETC commander. "I'm proud of each of them for their dedication and service to our Nation, our Air Force and Air Education and Training Command. I wish them continued success in the Air Force competition."
Dress and Appearance
Awards and Decorations
Air Force Promotions
Fitness Program
AF Demographics