News Search

AETC announces Services Outstanding Unit Awards

  • Published
Air Education and Training Command officials recently announced the winners for the 2008 AETC Services Outstanding Unit Awards in the following categories:

General Curtis E. LeMay (Large Unit): 37th Mission Support Group Services Division, Lackland AFB, Texas. The 37th Services Division expertly managed more than $381 million in projects, construction, contracts and facilities. They garnered the 2007 Fitness and Sports Program award as the number one program in Air Education and Training Command plus received the Air Force five-star recognition award. The 37th Services Division produced a staggering total of 1.13K programs ranging from dances to 4th of July events and attracting more than 278,000 personnel. They prepared and deployed 75 percent of the services warriors with a quality of life impact for 76,000 coalition forces in Baghdad.

Major General Eugene L. Eubank (Small Unit): 47th Force Support Squadron Services Division, Laughlin AFB, Texas. The 47th Services Division ran the gamete with many "firsts" in the Air Force and in Air Education and Training Command: first in the Air Force to eliminate rank structure in the club membership; first in the Air Force to expand its Capital Lease Program to purchase seven boats for the marina; and first in AETC to create an agreement to provide linen exchange service to the base by saving 15 percent through using nonappropriated funding labor. They acquired nine trailers at no cost to the wing but increased marina lodging capacity by 110 percent. 

Both units will compete in the Air Force level competition.
Dress and Appearance
Awards and Decorations
Air Force Promotions
Fitness Program
AF Demographics