News Search

AETC Announces Top Airmen

  • Published
  • By Tech. Sgt. Mike Hammond
  • Air Education and Training Command Public Affairs
Air Education and Training Command has announced its top Airmen of 2005.

The winners were chosen from among 29 nominees identified by leadership at their home stations as the best professionals in their categories. "The announcement of the AETC Outstanding Airmen of the Year is the culmination of a rigorous, highly competitive selection process to identify the best of the best in our command," explained Chief Master Sgt. Rodney Ellison, AETC command chief master sergeant. "Each winner embodies personal and professional qualities we hold dear: leadership, technical expertise, tireless work ethic, personal and professional integrity."

After reviewing nomination packages and conducting a final selection board, AETC officials selected a winner in each of six categories. The AETC Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2005 are:

Senior Noncommissioned Officer:
Senior Master Sgt. Patrick L. Wilson - Lackland Air Force Base, Texas;

Noncommissioned Officer:
Tech. Sgt. William J. Byrd - Keesler AFB, Miss.;

Senior Airman Elizabeth Sewell - Vance AFB, Okla.;

First Sergeant:
Master Sgt. Michael J. Dorzio - Lackland AFB, Texas;

Honor Guard Manager:
Tech. Sgt. Herman Ybarra - Lackland AFB, Texas;

Honor Guard Member:
Senior Airman Andrea L. Stegall - Columbus AFB, Miss.

"These Airmen are fine examples to their peers and outstanding ambassadors for the Air Force to all they meet," said Chief Ellison. "I am proud to serve with them and offer my sincere congratulations on a job well done. I also wish them continued success in the Air Force-level competition!"

Dress and Appearance
Awards and Decorations
Air Force Promotions
Fitness Program
AF Demographics