An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2023 AETC Safety Award Winners

  • Published
  • By Safety Directorate
  • Headquarters Air Education and Training Command

JOINT BASE SAN ANTONIO-RANDOLPH, Texas-- The Headquarters Air Education and Training Command Safety Directorate, on behalf of Maj. Gen. James R. Sears, Jr., AETC deputy commander, announced the winners of the 2023 AETC Safety Awards.

“Congratulations to the winners for their achievements and best wishes for their continued success,” said Col. Will Phillips, director of AETC Safety. “Additionally, I want to extend my sincere appreciation to all the nominees for their outstanding contributions to the safety of AETC Airmen.”

The following will go on to compete at Air Force-level:

  • AETC Koren Kolligian Jr. Award: Maj. Phillip A. Butler, 54th Operations Support Squadron, Holloman Air Force Base, N.M.
  • AETC Director of Safety Aircrew of Distinction Award: DUSTY 73 (Maj. Nicholas Zimmerman, Maj. Mitchell Mehaffey, Samuel Spencer and Staff Sgt. Jacob Bland) 71st Special Operations Squadron, Kirtland AFB, N.M.
  • AETC Team Aviation Maintenance Safety Award: Quality Assurance Office, 314th Airlift Wing, Little Rock AFB, Ark.
  • AETC Occupational Safety Career Professional of the Year Award: Tech. Sgt. Ashley B. Toomey, 33rd Fighter Wing, Eglin AFB, Fla.
  • AETC Occupational Safety Civilian of the Year Award: Mark P. Schaffer, 82nd Training Wing, Sheppard AFB, Texas
  • AETC Individual Weapons Safety Award: Tech. Sgt. David J. Panzer, 49th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Holloman AFB
  • AETC Chief of Safety Individual Nuclear Surety Award: Staff Sgt. John F. Gaddis, 58th Special Operations Wing, Kirtland AFB
  • AETC Safety Civilian Professional of the Year Award: Larry M. Cain, 59th Medical Wing, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas
  • AETC Safety NCO of the Year Award: Tech. Sgt. Devin L. Carrigan, 12th Flying Training Wing, JBSA-Randolph, Texas
  • AETC Safety Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year Award: Master Sgt. Clinton J. Gessler, AETC Flight Safety Division, JBSA-Randolph
  • AETC Safety Officer of the Year Award: Maj. Richard P. Loesch III, 12th Flying Training Wing, JBSA-Randolph
  • AETC Special Achievement Award: Combat Arms Section, 97th Security Forces Squadron, Altus AFB, Okla.
  • AETC Outstanding Achievement Award, Category I: 502nd Air Base Wing Safety, JBSA, Texas
  • AETC Outstanding Achievement Award, Category II: 82nd Training Wing Safety, Sheppard AFB
  • AETC Outstanding Achievement Award, Category III: 42nd Air Base Wing Safety, Maxwell AFB, Ala.
  • AETC Outstanding Achievement Award, Category IV: Special Warfare Training Wing Safety, JBSA-Lackland

The following are AETC Awards (major command-only):

  • AETC Lahm Trophy: 58th SOW Flight Safety, Kirtland AFB
  • AETC Unit Safety Representative of the Year: Master Sgt. Joseph E. Coleman, 351st Special Warfare Training Squadron, Kirtland AFB

“I greatly appreciate the time and effort invested by those supervisors and commanders to recognize their superior performers,” Phillips said. “Congratulations once again to our winners, and best wishes as they go on to compete at the Department of the Air Force-level!”