HomeNewsArticle Display

News Search

Medal of Honor site pays tribute to courageous Airmen

FORT GEORGE G. MEADE, Md. (AFNS) -- The Air Force has released a new website dedicated to more than 60 Airmen who have received the Medal of Honor for exemplary acts of courage.

The Medal of Honor is the highest military award for valor that can be bestowed upon a service member. The first medal received by an Airman was awarded to Capt. Edward V. Rickenbacker for aerial combat in 1918.

The Air Force-designed Medal of Honor was created on April 14, 1965. President Lyndon B. Johnson first presented this medal on Jan. 19, 1967, to Maj. Bernard F. Fisher for actions in South Vietnam.

To read more about other Air Force Medal of Honor recipients, click here.
Dress and Appearance
Awards and Decorations
Air Force Promotions
Fitness Program
AF Demographics